1. I am grateful for really good pasta. Seriously love the stuff.
  2. I am grateful for my childhood. It was wonderful in so many ways – I often feel bad for those who didn’t have the same experience. My memories are something I cherish every day.
  3. I am grateful for the guidance my Aunt Marian provided me after my mom died (when I was 14). She taught me the virtues of being fiercely independent, strong, and to travel, travel, travel. Material items come and go, but travel experiences create lifetime memories. It’s what the soul craves.
  4. I am grateful for the no-nonsense way I was raised. Coming from a working-class family (dad worked and mom stayed at home), I was taught to take pride in my work, that there is always something that needs to be done (I drive hubby crazy with this), and that hard work really does pay off. Dad taught me that the only person you can rely on is yourself. This lesson alone has gotten me to where I am today.
  5. I am grateful for my artistic ability. Not sure where it came from since no one else in my family is artistic, but I embrace it as a gift, whether I ever make money from it or not.

Today is an experiment – instead of handwriting in my spiral-bound notebook first and then copying the text here, I’m just typing it here first. May work out better for me since my right hand really doesn’t appreciate all that writing (thanks to previous carpal tunnel and now arthritis). I avoided doing this for the longest time thinking I would miss something by not handwriting first (what that something is I really don’t know). So far, so good – not missing a thing! 🙂

I love Martha Beck, and in her books she discusses the importance of analyzing dreams. At first it sounded SO cumbersome, but I recently started doing it. It’s very strange to be honest. Patterns start to reveal themselves, and when you think on them for awhile, you start to see what your unconscious mind is trying to reveal to you. Many of my dreams have a repetitive pattern: I’m often lost, trying to find my way “home” or to some specific location and I spend a great deal of time running in circles or facing one obstacle after another. With me is a family member who is always thwarting my progress. I want to reach home, yet don’t want to leave their side. And in each dream, I ultimately run into some individual who shows me the way home. I had a really weird dream last night that included my mom and dad (both deceased) and the family moving into a new home. My room was upstairs (it was an older house) and I noticed a small locked door (like the size of a window) on the far wall and a large wooden cross was leaning against it. I was terrified because I didn’t want to stay in the room by myself because I feared what was on the other side. It had to be something scary or demonic for the cross to be there. I left the room, and when I came back the door and cross were gone. Now covering the window opening was wrapping paper of some sort (Christmas?) and there was light spilling through the edges (like there was a television playing on the other side) and I heard voices. I felt scared, but rushed over and ripped the paper down and on the other side were two women and a little girl (no idea who they were – their faces weren’t clear). It was just a room (not sure if it was another house, apartment, or what), and they seemed happy. One of the women came to me smiling saying that it was okay to come over, it’s “safe here.”

That’s all I remember. I’m no professional dream analyst, but this dream, I believe, is trying to tell me that change can be scary, but I do need to push past my fear of the unknown because what is waiting for me on the other side is not so bad. It’s really good, actually. The lost dreams are ways of telling me, “You know the way, you really aren’t lost, trust in yourself and stop sacrificing yourself for the needs of others.” I came into 2016 knowing in my heart, feeling it in my bones, that it was a big year for change – positive, abundant and happy change. The type of change I’ve been craving for years (to move, to obtain a truly fulfilling career, to travel often). I know the time is now. It is scary, but unbelievably exciting too. However, I am allowing the universe to guide me. I am refusing at this point to set rigid goals or definitions of what this wonderful change will be because doing so in the past hasn’t worked for me. And I’m tired of being so rigid. I trust the universe will deliver me to exactly where I need to me. At the right time. It’s so liberating to let go and have faith.

Today is a great day! It will flow smoothly from one segment to the next. I am happy, I am focused. I am at peace with myself. I am living in the moment. I am wide-awake, refreshed, and ready to go! I have an abundance of energy! (Note: these energy affirmations seem to be working – doesn’t hurt to keep them going.)

Peace, love, happiness and harmony always….

Waves
Waves of change – flow with them.
Leave a Reply

